top of page

Team Barbados Aiming for 3rd Consecutive Title

Team Barbados celebrating in 2017. From left to right: Lidia Luther (Manager), Ryan Rodriguez, Ralf Luther, David Eastmond, Brett Callaghan, Daniel Hatch and Nevin Roach (Captain)

When the 2019 World Championship of Segway Polo, also known as the WOZ Challenge Cup gets underway in Sweden later this month, Team Barbados will be aiming to win a third consecutive title, and a fifth overall.

This is the news coming out of the Segway Polo Club of Barbados, which will see Team Barbados defending their 2017 title with the likes of Ralf Luther, Brett Callaghan, Ryan Rodriguez, David Eastmond, Daniel Hatch, Franchero Ellis and Nevin Roach (c).

According to Roach, preparations for the tournament began in February this year and have been progressing nicely. He also noted that despite the team being at full strength again this year, he expects to meet tougher competition.

Captain Nevin Roach on the attack during the 2017 Segway Polo World Championship in Germany

“We won the last two Championships in 2015 and 2017 so I expect our opposition to know us very well going to Sweden. Especially teams like the Balver Mammuts from Germany who we defeated in the last two finals. They are definitely going to throw everything at us and we look forward to playing against them and the other teams. We have a surprise for them [chuckles].”

The team will fly to Stockholm, Sweden for the tournament, which takes place from July 25-28, 2019 and hosts teams from countries such as the US, UK, Sweden, Switzerland, Germany, Belgium and Austria. Strong competition is expected from the Mammuts (Germany), Saints (Sweden), Blade Dragons (Germany) and the Funky-Move Turtles (Germany).

The Segway Polo Club of Barbados would like to thank the Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc., the Academy of Sport at UWI Cave Hill and Valencia Limited for their support.

Past Results at World Championships

2017 – Team Barbados (Champions)

2015 – Team Barbados (Champions)

2013 – Team Barbados (Runners-up)

2011 – Barbados Flyin’ Fish (Runners-up)

2011 – Barbados Rum Runners (7th)

2010 – Barbados Flyin’ Fish (Champions)

2010 – Barbados Rum Runners (4th)

2009 – Barbados Flyin’ Fish (Champions)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page